Is John Mann MP right about the lack of police officers out there?

My former opponent in Bassetlaw John Mann MP doesn’t usually get things right (in my view) however he did hit the nail on the head with his intervention at the end of PMQs this week. (Click the play button in the right hand column for this weeks PMQs which took place on 09 -12-09)

Essentially he asked why when he went out with the police on a Friday night where there only 14 out of around 2400 police men and women on duty? That’s right 14 out of over 2,400. It appears as though policing has been allowed to become like a “normal” job.

Do they think the criminals don’t operate out of 9 to 5 hours?

I really hope that as with other things, perhaps he has got this one wrong and Nottinghamshire police had a few more officers on duty in the  respective division which was asked about.

If my own experience is anything to go by, I fear this time, he may be right

Leave a comment